Daily Devotional

  • Dealing with Division — Saturday September 23, 2017

    SATURDAY September 23, 2017

    Dealing with Division

    Now I say this, that each of you says, “I am of Paul,” or “I am of Apollos,” or “I am of Cephas,” or “I am of Christ.” Is Christ divided? Was Paul crucified for you? Or were you baptized in the name of Paul?

    1 Corinthians 1:12-13

    The subject of division can turn out to be a blessing or a cursing. It can be hurtful and damaging. It really depends on the intention of the people causing the problem. Usually self-seekers try to build their own kingdom and exalt their own name. They have their own agenda and can cause a lot of damage to a ministry.

    Paul the apostle, being wise in ministry, gave this sound advice:

    Now I urge you, brethren, note those who cause divisions and offenses, contrary to the doctrine which you learned, and avoid them. For those who are such do not serve our Lord Jesus Christ, but their own belly, and by smooth words and flattering speech deceive the hearts of the simple (Romans 16:17-18).

    But God can actually use division for His purposes. Such was the case of Paul and Barnabas, when both of them disagreed about taking John Mark on another missionary journey. John had turned back and left them in Pamphylia. Paul thought John to be too immature to bring him along again. The issue caused Paul and Barnabas to be divided:

    Then the contention became so sharp that they parted from one another. And so Barnabas took Mark and sailed to Cyprus; but Paul chose Silas and departed, being commended by the brethren to the grace of God (Acts 15:39-40).

    God actually used the disagreement to enhance the ministry. Now there were two missionary teams. Barnabas was used in Cyprus to begin a brand new work. While Paul was used to spread the Gospel in Macedonia (Acts 16:10). We should endeavor to serve the Lord for the glory of His name, never our own.

    Give unto the LORD the glory due to His name…
    ~Psalm 29:2~

  • Is Christ Divided? — Friday September 22, 2017
  • Please, No Divisions, Among us — Thursday September 21, 2017
  • Fellowship with Christ — Wednesday September 20, 2017
  • Eagerly Waiting for Christ's Return — Tuesday September 19, 2017
  • Confirmed In Christ — Monday September 18, 2017
  • Enriched in Christ — Sunday September 17, 2017
  • Times of Seclusion — Saturday September 16, 2017
  • God's Grace Given — Friday September 15, 2017
  • God's Grace and Peace — Thursday September 14, 2017
  • Sanctified Saints — Wednesday September 13, 2017
  • Minister to the Immature — Tuesday September 12, 2017
  • 9/11 Terror Attacks Remembered — Monday September 11, 2017
  • Sending a Letter — Sunday September 10, 2017
  • Called by God's Will — Saturday September 9, 2017
  • Exhortations and Rebukes — Friday September 8, 2017
  • A Chosen Instrument — Thursday September 7, 2017
  • Balanced Teaching — Wednesday September 6, 2017
  • Called Out Ones — Tuesday September 5, 2017
  • Labor Day — Monday September 4, 2017
  • Called an Apostle — Sunday September 3, 2017
  • A Unified Church — Saturday September 2, 2017
  • Get Back On Track — Friday September 1, 2017
  • Undefiled Lives — Thursday August 31, 2017
  • The Sin of Solomon — Wednesday August 30, 2017
  • Contending with Compromise — Tuesday August 29, 2017